Beautiful Funeral – by Jamie McGuire

book

Beautiful Funeral by Jamie McGuire

Paperback: 238 Pages

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (August 2, 2016)

ISBN-13: 978-1534623576

Synopsis: Losing has never been easy for a Maddox, but death always wins.

Eleven years to the day after eloping in Vegas with Abby, Special Agent Travis Maddox delivers his own brand of vigilante justice to mob boss Benny Carlisi. Vegas’s oldest and most violent crime family is now preparing for vengeance, and the entire Maddox family is a target.

The secret Thomas and Travis have kept for a decade will be revealed to the rest of the family, and for the first time the Maddoxes will be at odds. While none of them are strangers to loss, the family has grown, and the risk is higher than ever. With brothers against brothers and wives taking sides, each member will make a choice—let the fear tear them apart, or make them stronger.

* * *

The final book in the Maddox Brothers series. I had conflicting feelings about this book coming out; sadness that my journey with this family of brothers was coming to an end and excitement to know I would get to spend a little more time with each brother and their family. While I am sad that the series is over, I feel like the ending was powerful and heartfelt – creating a perfecting ending to this lovely series.

Beautiful Funeral follows all five of the Maddox brothers and their spouses in alternating voices throughout the book. I am not going to lie – I did have to create a little legend for myself to keep track of the characters and their wives, but this was just to help me avoid confusion as I read the series as they were released. In the first 50 pages there was some confusion as the timeline was not constant, so I thought that some time indicators at the start of the chapters might have been helpful at this point, but I got over this fast and continued on in the book.

I do not like to include any spoilers, but the ending of this book was so powerful and heart wrenching, it left me with tears in my eyes. There was one thing that happened at the end of the book that left me screaming “WHY!?”, but I am sure McGuire has her reasons… What a beautiful way to end this amazing series. Thank you Jamie McGuire for telling this story and sharing it with the world. I will always carry the Maddox brothers with me as I feel I have become a part of their family myself.

Rating: 9/10 – just because of that WHY moment and the confusing beginning.   

Leave a Reply

