Are You Sleeping – by Kathleen Barber

512C5hRsk8L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber 

Hardcover: 336 pages

Publisher: Gallery Books (Aug. 1 2017)

ISBN-13: 978-1501157660

Synopsis: The only thing more dangerous than a lie…is the truth.

Josie Buhrman has spent the last ten years trying to escape her family’s reputation and with good reason. After her father’s murder thirteen years prior, her mother ran away to join a cult and her twin sister Lanie, once Josie’s closest friend and confidant, betrayed her in an unimaginable way. Now, Josie has finally put down roots in New York, settling into domestic life with her partner Caleb, and that’s where she intends to stay.

The only problem is that she has lied to Caleb about every detail of her past—starting with her last name.

When investigative reporter Poppy Parnell sets off a media firestorm with a mega-hit podcast that reopens the long-closed case of Josie’s father’s murder, Josie’s world begins to unravel. Meanwhile, the unexpected death of Josie’s long-absent mother forces her to return to her Midwestern hometown where she must confront the demons from her past—and the lies on which she has staked her future.

* * *

Wow: this book is directly headed for the best seller list when it comes out in August and will automatically be added to the “Thriller” Must Read List! I have only just started reading books in the thriller genre and this book just helped to solidify my love for these fast paced stories.

After Josie’s father was murdered and her twin sister betrayed her, she left home and never looked back. She created a life for herself under a new identity and locking her past up tight. But that all changes when a reporter comes looking for her – which all leads to a page turning thriller!

Once I got to the heart of the story this book captivated me and sucked me in; I would literally count down until I could have “reading time” while reading this book. There was a lot of time spent on character development that I felt could have been cut down slightly – especially because if I had to pick, I would say that it was the story and plot line that kept me going in this book – not so much the characters. However, once I really got into the heart of the story, I did find myself liking the main character, Josie, a little more and I forgot about the character development parts of the novel.

This is a book I can completely see becoming a Hollywood movie with its twists and turns – and really just overall really catching plot line that draws you in!

Rating: 8.5/10

* I received this book from Simon & Schuster Canada in exchange for an honest review*

 

Leave a Reply

