Okay (Something More #2) – By Danielle Pearl


Okay (Something More #2) by Danielle Pearl 

Paperback: 308 pages

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (Feb. 24 2015)

ISBN-13: 978-1523988600

Synopsis: After the horrors she’s survived over the past year, Rory never expected to find the one thing she certainly wasn’t looking for – love. But after the painful realization that her past has left her a dangerous liability to the person she cares for the most, she finally understands that for her and Sam, love means letting go. Can two people hopelessly in love with one another ever revert back into just friends? Neither Rory nor Sam know for sure. But the one thing they do know – it’s the only choice they have. As Rory recovers from a devastating assault, Sam will do anything to make sure it never happens again. But how far will he go to keep her safe? Their choices will change everything, and they will either bring them back together, or destroy them irrevocably. OKAY is the follow-up to NORMAL and Book 2 of the Something More series. It is not meant to be read as a standalone novel.

* * *

This is the second book in the Something More series that follows Aurora “Rory” and Sam “Cap” through their tumultuous relationship. The book starts up right where NORMAL left off – something that I really liked. I literally read these books back to back so it just felt like I was continuing on with the story. However, if I hadn’t read them back to back, I probably wouldn’t have liked this as much – although Pearl does a very good job of recapping the previous book for those who are reading the two books weeks/months/years apart.

As for the plot line in the sequel, I found that it was slightly more predictable and more “wordy”. There were a large handful of passages where I found myself skimming through the pages. I enjoyed seeing the characters continue to grow and their stories conclude, but the intrigue of the unknown that was so enticing in the first book was missing from the sequel.

Nonetheless, this is still a must read for anyone who read the first book in the series. Pearl concludes the story of Rory and Cap in a beautiful way that leaves the reader feeling satisfied – not just in their relationship together, but in both characters own personal growth. A very nice, a little more peaceful, conclusion to a captivating series.

Please note: NORMAL and OKAY make up the first set in the Something More series that follows Rory and Cap’s story. The 3rd and 4th book in the series, IN RUINS and IN PIECES, focus on different characters from the “Something More” world. Look for reviews on these books coming later in 2018.

Rating: 8/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s