Hearts of Resistance – by Soraya M. Lane

51H+qJjKcFL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Hearts of Resistance by Soraya M. Lane

Paperback: 332 pages

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (Jan. 10 2018)

ISBN-13: 978-1477805107

Synopsis: When Hazel is given the chance to parachute into Nazi-occupied France, she seizes the opportunity to do more for the British war effort than file paperwork. Alongside her childhood friend, French-born Rose, she quickly rises up the ranks of the freedom fighters. For Rose, the Resistance is a link to her late husband, and a way to move forward without him. What starts out as helping downed airmen becomes a bigger cause when they meet Sophia, a German escapee and fierce critic of Hitler who is wanted by the Gestapo. Together the three women form a bond that will last a lifetime.

But amid the turmoil and tragedy of warfare, all three risk losing everything—and everyone—they hold dear. Will their united front be strong enough to see them through?

* * *

This World War II story of Rose, Sophie and Hazel is a grippingly realistic story of three women who work to fight the Nazi’s in occupied France. All three women have their own motivation for working against the Nazis (and in some cases, even against their own family) and when they find each other, they work together risking their own lives to help save the lives of others.

Soraya M. Lane has created an amazing story of female empowerment and bravery, exemplifying the key roles that women playing during the Second World War in helping to defeat the Nazis. While reading, I felt that I was transported back in time and that these three women were real people; it was very similar to true stories that I have read and very realistic feeling. There was so much suspense that I had such a hard time putting this book down – it is just over 300 pages, so if you have time to read in one sitting, you will probably be doing that!

This was the first book I have read by Lane, but I will be following her works now and reading more from her in the future. Lane’s ability to bring this historical story to life and capture the emotions of such a turbulent time, has made me a fan for life! Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will love this one!

Rating: 9.5/10

* I received this book in exchange for an honest review from Thomas Allen & Sons *

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s